Got my new TV

Feel free to discuss anything non pumpkin related
Post Reply
User avatar
St0ney
The Boss with the Hot Sauce
The Boss with the Hot Sauce
Posts: 6895
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:33 am
Gender: Male
Location: 1313 Mockingbird Lane
Contact:

Tue Nov 30, 2010 9:20 pm

I was able to get a 42" LCD to fit in the entertainment center. ;)

I decided to go with the LG 42LD550

LG 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

What's it Got?
Netflix
YouTube
Picasa
Vudu
AccuWeather
Yahoo! TV Widgets ALL Built in

Ethernet Port , So It's now (Hard Wired) on my network.

I Also Hooked up a 1TB Hard-Drive to one of the USB Ports.
The TV Can Play from the USB HD - Photo's - Mp3, And DivX and XviD ;)

The 1 TB hard Drive is what I used for my Computer it's a USB 2.0.

I just bought a 2 TB usb 3.0 hard drive.
It took 6 hours today to move the files from the old drive to the new drive.


this is a cool setup now.

the hard drive on the TV - I can place a movie on it in just a few minutes.
and play it with-out having to burn to Disc CD or DVD.

I can Always Burn it to disc at a later date. ;)


The New Drive for the PC - being a usb 3.0 it's now as fast as the local drives.

So today was spent on upgrading - re-wiring.
I got one foot in the grave, the other on a banana peel !
The Pumpkin Carving Group - Facebook Group
User avatar
jdj420
The Quiet Carver
The Quiet Carver
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 7:37 am
Gender: Male
Location: Upland, CA

Tue Nov 30, 2010 9:51 pm

sounds like a great setup. i stocked up on new drives this past weekend as well. Target was selling both the 1TB and the 2TB external drives for 69.99. i couldn't pass it up. now just have to figure out the best configuration to maximize all the new storage!
Why live on the edge when you can jump off! - A.J. Hackett
User avatar
St0ney
The Boss with the Hot Sauce
The Boss with the Hot Sauce
Posts: 6895
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:33 am
Gender: Male
Location: 1313 Mockingbird Lane
Contact:

Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:06 pm

I've been using the Western Digtital My Book drives for years.
I Never Had one FAIL - Would only replace just for upgrade.

I've been using a Lap top for the past few years,
With the new setup - I also got a Good VGA Cable to hook up to the Laptop.
So I can use the TV as a Monitor.

My Daughters getting a Wii for X-mas - And the Charger and Wii Lines are already wired. :)

Come x-mas - open the box and plug it in - LMAO

I don't want to have to pull the TV and do the wiring X-mas Day. ;)
I got one foot in the grave, the other on a banana peel !
The Pumpkin Carving Group - Facebook Group
Post Reply